Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37

Thread: I can has teh interwebnetz?

  1. #21
    Will YOU be ready when the zombies rise? x88x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    6,334

    Default Re: I can has teh interwebnetz?

    Interesting solution to an annoying problem. +rep

    Are you sure you're renting the modem from Verizon? I thought I was too, but when I canceled my service with them I discovered that I had gotten it for free when I signed up with them. ...on a completely unrelated note, if you want a DSL modem to tear apart and modify for a more seamless solution, I have an extra one that I don't anticipate I'll ever use in the foreseeable future.
    That we enjoy great advantages from the inventions of others, we should be glad of an opportunity to serve others by any invention of ours, and this we should do freely and generously.
    --Benjamin Franklin
    TBCS 5TB Club :: coilgun :: bench PSU :: mightyMite :: Zeus :: E15 Magna EV

  2. #22
    The floppy drive is no longer obsolete. AmEv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Idaho, USA
    Posts
    3,052

    Default Re: I can has teh interwebnetz?

    Well, when we signed up for our WiMax service, it said the main "brick" was theirs; the USB modem is ours to keep because we bought it! Sooooo.....
    Two years. They were great. Let's make the next ones even better!

    Tri.fecta

  3. #23
    Its not cool till its watercooled. Fuganater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Kinshasa, DRC
    Posts
    2,843

    Default Re: I can has teh interwebnetz?

    You have to rent Verizon modems now?? I've never had to pay for them before.

  4. #24
    Resident 100HP water-cannon operator SXRguyinMA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    5,865

    Default Re: I can has teh interwebnetz?

    Well not "rent" but it's included in the bill. IIRC you need to send it back if you cancel service. If it's ours to keep I may just say F-it and tear it apart and do it nice and clean-like and just chock this up to a learning experience with etching

  5. #25
    Resident 100HP water-cannon operator SXRguyinMA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    5,865

    Default Re: I can has teh interwebnetz?

    OK so after doing some reasearch, it appears that I own the modem. They bill you at the time of service startup. This changes things I believe

    From this link:
    http://www22.verizon.com/foryourbusi...packageb_e.asp

    Modem billed at $99, plus applicable taxes at time of order.
    I think I'll pop it apart and see if I have room to put the components inside it, and just use a relay instead of a servo on the internal connections to switch it on and off. I'll report back after work tonight....

  6. #26
    Its not cool till its watercooled. Fuganater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Kinshasa, DRC
    Posts
    2,843

    Default Re: I can has teh interwebnetz?

    Ah that must be a new thing.

  7. #27
    Now making cases for the heck of it =) Waynio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Manchester / UK
    Posts
    1,661

    Default Re: I can has teh interwebnetz?

    Hehe Brilliant solution to a bugging problem +rep for you & to crenn for the codage , wish I could get motivated to learn a bit of coding & diy electronics to do some interesting stuff but wow it must take a long time to learn.

  8. #28
    Resident 100HP water-cannon operator SXRguyinMA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    5,865

    Default Re: I can has teh interwebnetz?

    That's the beauty of Arduino....it's quick and REALLY easy. I had ZERO experience with coding until I got mine, and basic things are a breeze to me now. The more complex I need crenn for though

  9. #29
    Resident 100HP water-cannon operator SXRguyinMA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    5,865

    Default Re: I can has teh interwebnetz?

    It's done!

    I got all the parts cut out and glued together

    Here you can see the tab to act as a guide for the actuator arms

    I ended up having to put a small piece of wire to hold the main actuator rods together. They were moving outwards and missing the on/off switch completely.

    And the final shots. In the second pic you can see the sensor shroud I made out of black foam poster board. This shields all but the internet indicator light from the light sensor.





    and the final code (thanks again crenn!!)
    Code:
    #include*<Servo.h>
    
    #define dropouttime  30000
    #define offtime         120000
    #define connecttime  180000
    
    enum {
        waitingDrop='A',
        dropDetected='B',
        waitingConnection='C'
    };
    
    enum{
        turnOff=79,
        turnOn=119
    };
    
    int photocellPin = 0;
    int photocellReading;
    char state = waitingDrop;
    char laststate;
    unsigned char servoval = turnOff;
    long looptimer, servotimer;
    Servo servo;
    
    void setup()
    {
      Serial.begin(1200);
      servo.attach(9);
      servo.write(servoval);
      delay(2000);
      servoval = turnOn;
      servo.write(servoval);
      servotimer=millis();
      looptimer=servotimer;
    }
    
    void loop()
    {
      if (((millis()-servotimer) > 50) || (state != laststate)) {
        servo.write(servoval);
        servotimer = millis();
      }
      laststate = state;
      if (state == waitingDrop) {
        photocellReading = analogRead(photocellPin);
        Serial.print("Analog reading = ");
        Serial.println(photocellReading);
        servoval = turnOn;
        if ((photocellReading <= 100) && ((millis()-looptimer) > dropouttime)) {
          state = dropDetected;
          Serial.println("Dropout detected");
          looptimer = millis();
        }
        else if ((photocellReading > 100) && (state == waitingDrop))  {
          looptimer = millis();
        }
      }
      else if (state == dropDetected) {
          servoval = turnOff;
          if ((millis()-looptimer) > offtime) {
          Serial.println("Turning Modem On and waiting for connection");
            state = waitingConnection;
            looptimer = millis();
          }
      }
      else if (state == waitingConnection) {
          servoval = turnOn;
          if ((millis()-looptimer) > connecttime) {
            state = waitingDrop;
            Serial.println("Waiting for Dropout");
            looptimer = millis();
          }
      }
      else {
        Serial.print("States: ");
        Serial.print(waitingDrop);
        Serial.print(dropDetected);
        Serial.println(waitingConnection);
        Serial.print("Invalid state: ");
        Serial.println(state);
        if ((millis()-looptimer) > dropouttime){
          state = waitingDrop;
          looptimer = millis();
        }
      }
    }

  10. #30
    baaah. billygoat333's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    3,331

    Default Re: I can has teh interwebnetz?

    Video of this thing in action? eh?
    Quote Originally Posted by Omega
    ber is id elicous
    Centurion 5 Mod <<--- ON HOLD FOR THE WINTER

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •