Thread: Overclocking help?

Default Overclocking help?

Alright, so it's been a while for me, so I don't have as much knowledge as I used to. Plus, I want to do this partly to see how far I can go. But I want to overclock my processor (more than it already is). I haven't read up anything about overclocking in years, so I'm not sure exactly how I should proceed with this. I know a slight bit, but would like to go into this assuming I have no knowledge on overclocking.

To start off, I have a Core 2 Duo E6700. My motherboard has a built in overclocking utility in the BIOS, which I've been using for a long time to keep my CPU clocked up to 3.20ghz. However the utility will only let me clock it up by so much. Ever since I got my new heatsink, replacing my stock one, and getting idle temperatures of 27C even while overclocked from 2.66ghz to3.20ghz, I wanted to see just how far I could push it.

I'm not too worried about actually damaging anything, I just don't know how I should proceed. So I need to help and advice and some tips on what to do. I know I'll need to adjust memory frequencies I guess alongside the CPU (four 1GB sticks of DDR2 800 by the way), and make sure I have a stable voltage as well. I just don't know where to begin.

Default Re: Overclocking help?

By adjusting your memory divider down, your board should allow you to clock the CPU higher. That's where you should start. Overclocking is all about isolating cpu from mobo from memory. Start with the mobo and its base clock/FSB. See how high you can get that with a minimum cpu multi. Once you figure that peak out, that is as fast as your board will go. Then go back and adjust both the base clock/FSB and multi (keeping the base clock below its peak) to achieve record breaking clocks!
    I'll procrastinate tomorrow.

mentally overclocked Cale_Hagan's Avatar

also, may i recommend you never use the built in overclocking tool? usually it will put way more voltage than needed through your chip...