Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Wireless intereference...from my motherboard?

  1. #1
    woy...collokweee...weeble weeble blaaaat artoodeeto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Oak Park, California, USA
    Posts
    1,072

    Default Wireless intereference...from my motherboard?

    Hey guys, weird issue here. I have a Linksys wireless G router with DDWRT installed. I recently upgraded my system to a Gigabyte Ga-970 motherboard with an AMD 8-core processor. Prior to this upgrade I didn't have wireless issues. I only upgraded my RAM, motherboard and processor. I retained the same video card and hard drives.

    Since the upgrade, I've noticed high-pitched electronic "squealing' periodically coming from my machine, and have noticed apparent wireless interference. My desktop is hooked up to the router via a wired connection which always works, but I've noticed that while the desktop is on, my work laptop, my wife's laptop, my wife's iPhone, my piano computer (wireless USB adapter) and our DVD player that streams Netflix wirelessly all have periodic connection issues. Typically when these other devices can't connect to the internet via the wireless, as soon as I turn off my desktop they all magically start working. And it bears repeating that my desktop doesn't experience these issues, which leads me to believe my motherboard is putting out some kind of RF interference that screws up the router signal.

    Anyone ever experience anything like this? It doesn't happen consistently, but it's getting REALLY annoying...
    Quote Originally Posted by ElevateThis View Post
    I'd mod my dog if i could.
    Quote Originally Posted by AmEv View Post
    (Steam me.... that sounds bad >_<)

  2. #2
    If it isn't stock, it's modded! slaveofconvention's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear, UK
    Posts
    2,816

    Default Re: Wireless intereference...from my motherboard?

    Electric motors are a big potential source of interferance - did you replace your CPU heatsink (might be the fan)

  3. #3
    woy...collokweee...weeble weeble blaaaat artoodeeto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Oak Park, California, USA
    Posts
    1,072

    Default Re: Wireless intereference...from my motherboard?

    the system's water cooled. Didn't change any of those components either - still using the same rad, fans, pump, and waterblocks.

    And that electronic squealing I mentioned is definitely coming from the motherboard. I've had video cards do that in the past too, but in my old setup my GTX285 that I'm still using didn't make noise.
    Quote Originally Posted by ElevateThis View Post
    I'd mod my dog if i could.
    Quote Originally Posted by AmEv View Post
    (Steam me.... that sounds bad >_<)

  4. #4
    Moderator TLHarrell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Morgan Hill, CA
    Posts
    1,045

    Default Re: Wireless intereference...from my motherboard?

    Sounds like a bad cap. RMA the board.
    I have a hammer! I can put things together! I can knock things apart! I can alter my environment at will and make an incredible din all the while! -Calvin

  5. #5
    woy...collokweee...weeble weeble blaaaat artoodeeto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Oak Park, California, USA
    Posts
    1,072

    Default Re: Wireless intereference...from my motherboard?

    dang...it's well outside the store return policy timeframe...I'll have to contact gigabyte support and see if I can switch it out.

    *edit - contacted them -we'll see if/when they respond...
    Quote Originally Posted by ElevateThis View Post
    I'd mod my dog if i could.
    Quote Originally Posted by AmEv View Post
    (Steam me.... that sounds bad >_<)

  6. #6
    100% Recycled Pixels. Twigsoffury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma city
    Posts
    1,969

    Default Re: Wireless intereference...from my motherboard?

    Is spread spectrum enabled in the bios? and whats the tolerance?


    hows the continuity of the ground on your outlet that the computer is plugged into?

  7. #7
    woy...collokweee...weeble weeble blaaaat artoodeeto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Oak Park, California, USA
    Posts
    1,072

    Default Re: Wireless intereference...from my motherboard?

    No idea on either of those, but let's put it this way - prior to switching motherboards, the wireless never had an issue.

    As for spread spectrum - is that something in the router or my mainboard...? It doesn't sound familiar.
    Quote Originally Posted by ElevateThis View Post
    I'd mod my dog if i could.
    Quote Originally Posted by AmEv View Post
    (Steam me.... that sounds bad >_<)

  8. #8
    woy...collokweee...weeble weeble blaaaat artoodeeto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Oak Park, California, USA
    Posts
    1,072

    Default Re: Wireless intereference...from my motherboard?

    Gotta love tech support - the response to my fairly detailed description: "are you sure it's the board? check the video card fan." this is AFTER I told them my video card is liquid cooled and doesn't have a fan... oy....
    Quote Originally Posted by ElevateThis View Post
    I'd mod my dog if i could.
    Quote Originally Posted by AmEv View Post
    (Steam me.... that sounds bad >_<)

  9. #9
    Moderator TLHarrell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Morgan Hill, CA
    Posts
    1,045

    Default Re: Wireless intereference...from my motherboard?

    They're just braindead low tier tech support zombies. They only know how to follow the script. Their script assumes you're the normal deadbeat barely knows how to turn a screwdriver type user. If the guy who has to use 75% of his mental ability to keep breathing can't help in a matter of 90 seconds, as for the next tier support.
    I have a hammer! I can put things together! I can knock things apart! I can alter my environment at will and make an incredible din all the while! -Calvin

  10. #10
    woy...collokweee...weeble weeble blaaaat artoodeeto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Oak Park, California, USA
    Posts
    1,072

    Default Re: Wireless intereference...from my motherboard?

    Yeah, I've experienced this many times before. I'm reminded of a time I called my ISP because of an issue with my cable modem, and first thing I said was I'd already tried unplugging it and plugging it back in several times to no avail. Their (initial) response? Try it again. Gee...if it hasn't worked the last 3 times, why would it suddenly magically work this time? hopefully in my present predicament I'll now get the next tier...
    Quote Originally Posted by ElevateThis View Post
    I'd mod my dog if i could.
    Quote Originally Posted by AmEv View Post
    (Steam me.... that sounds bad >_<)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •