Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Should I Switch My Motherboard to AHCI Mode?

  1. #1
    The User DemonDragonJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    outside the net, inputting games for pleasure
    Posts
    259

    Default Should I Switch My Motherboard to AHCI Mode?

    My motherboard currently is set to run in IDE mode, and it has been for the entire time that I have used it, and it has functioned perfectly well without any problems, thus far.

    However, I have heard that AHCI mode offers options that IDE mode does not, most notably superior performance, especially when the computer is using solid-state drives. My current computer is still using a mechanical hard drive, so would I notice any increase in performance if I switched my motherboard to AHCI mode? Or would switching to AHCI mode completely disrupt my system, since it has been operating in IDE for all this time? What can anyone else here say about this? Also, as a side note, I shall be using a solid-state drive for my next computer, so I shall be certain to switch the motherboard of that system to AHCI mode before I even install the operating system upon it, to ensure that I can gain maximum performance from my next machine.
    "When the people fear the government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty." -Thomas Jefferson.

    "Those who would trade their freedoms for security will have neither." -Benjamin Franklin

  2. #2
    Resident 100HP water-cannon operator SXRguyinMA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    5,862

    Default Re: Should I Switch My Motherboard to AHCI Mode?

    The problem is that to switch to ACHI mode you'll need to reinstall windows. Chances are if you go into the BIOS and change it the PC just won't boot. Change it back and it'll boot fine lol

  3. #3
    The User DemonDragonJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    outside the net, inputting games for pleasure
    Posts
    259

    Default Re: Should I Switch My Motherboard to AHCI Mode?

    Quote Originally Posted by SXRguyinMA View Post
    The problem is that to switch to ACHI mode you'll need to reinstall windows. Chances are if you go into the BIOS and change it the PC just won't boot. Change it back and it'll boot fine lol
    In that case, should I simply leave my motherboard as it currently is, and be certain to use AHCI mode in my next computer?
    "When the people fear the government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty." -Thomas Jefferson.

    "Those who would trade their freedoms for security will have neither." -Benjamin Franklin

  4. #4
    Resident 100HP water-cannon operator SXRguyinMA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    5,862

    Default Re: Should I Switch My Motherboard to AHCI Mode?

    Yea that's your best bet. TBH I never noticed a huge difference either way. I've set most of mine up in ACHI but my test bench system is actually setup in IDE and it works just fine

  5. #5
    Fox Furry crenn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    In the shadows behind you
    Posts
    4,067

    Default Re: Should I Switch My Motherboard to AHCI Mode?

    Actually, you can change it, just you need to change a setting in the registry first!

    Like this: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=313676
    Antec Sonata II | Pioneer DVR-212
    Good news! You can follow my website or follow me on twitter!

  6. #6
    The User DemonDragonJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    outside the net, inputting games for pleasure
    Posts
    259

    Default Re: Should I Switch My Motherboard to AHCI Mode?

    Quote Originally Posted by crenn View Post
    Actually, you can change it, just you need to change a setting in the registry first!

    Like this: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=313676
    If I do that, will I notice any difference in performance with my mechanical hard drive?
    "When the people fear the government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty." -Thomas Jefferson.

    "Those who would trade their freedoms for security will have neither." -Benjamin Franklin

  7. #7
    Custom Title Honors
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,078

    Default Re: Should I Switch My Motherboard to AHCI Mode?

    probably not.

  8. #8
    Fox Furry crenn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    In the shadows behind you
    Posts
    4,067

    Default Re: Should I Switch My Motherboard to AHCI Mode?

    Only if your hard drive is quite fragmented. Look up NCQ if you're curious, that will be activated if you switch to ACHI mode.
    Antec Sonata II | Pioneer DVR-212
    Good news! You can follow my website or follow me on twitter!

  9. #9
    Why must hard drives fail together? TheMainMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    806

    Default Re: Should I Switch My Motherboard to AHCI Mode?

    Having done that registry hack in the past, I can say that I had issues that came up with the system after doing that. I added an SSD and forgot to set it when I built the system so I changed it and I had a number of issues with the mechanical hard drive dropping or hanging. I can't say for sure that it was caused by that change but that hard drive worked fine in another system after. AHCI also adds hot-swapping in addition to NCQ, which may or may not be of use to you. By the sounds of things though, I would wait until a re-install to do the change
    TheMainMan

  10. #10

    Default Re: Should I Switch My Motherboard to AHCI Mode?

    Yes, you should switch to AHCI Mode as ssd runs faster on it, But the fact is you have to reinstall or boot windows.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •