Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Filling up my empty drive bay with some fans.

Default Filling up my empty drive bay with some fans.

Hello all, just joined this site. Anyway, I decided that my 1 red led fan on the front of my case wasn't enough looks-wise, so I decided to put 3 40mm fans in my empty drive bay. Still a work in progress, and not sure if I'm going with this setup or if I'm going to redo it, but here's what I have so far. Also plan on running the power for the lights independently from the fans in a fan controller so I can adjust the brightness and speed separately.

Here is my first version, with the leds and fans running off of the same power:

Rewired it a bit for separate power since then, but no pics yet. Waiting on my fan controller to get in so I can get everything installed. Also, in case anyone was wondering, my case is a Rosewill Blackbone.
    Sorry if this thread is in the wrong place, I'm just a noob feeling my way around these parts lol.

Default Re: Filling up my empty drive bay with some fans.

Not a bad start. 40mm are a tad on the noisy side though. Hope you'll be running them well below full speed.
    I have a hammer! I can put things together! I can knock things apart! I can alter my environment at will and make an incredible din all the while! -Calvin

I will. Don't really need more airflow in my case, so I'm going to run them just fast enough to scatter the light properly.

Now this I want to see in a case

Fan controller should be here Monday, so should have some pics of it installed sometime next week. Ordered some different fans that I think will work a bit better, and some more LEDs, so I'm going to make a new one when I get everything. The new fans won't be here for a few weeks as they are coming from China, so going to run this setup for a bit. Also, I wish that this was still available, the mesh matches perfectly to my case. And I wouldn't have to worry about disconnecting the fans whenever I take the face plate off.