Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My New "BoomBox"

Default My New "BoomBox"

Well guys, this is my first post, figured I would start off with a mod of my own since you guys are such pro's at these things....And I'm a newb starting out. I've got tons of ideas for new mods and such. My first one is probably one that has been done several times over, BUT! Not one I've done myself

Any and all critisim (constructive or otherwise) is welcome as I'm a beginner and if you see something that is a big "no no" please let me know

So here goes, my new "BoomBox"

This is a side by side of the stereo I'm moding and the computer the parts are coming from, yes, I know the thing is old, but hey, better to start out with some stuff you won't mind breaking if it comes down to it

Default Re: My New "BoomBox"

My goal is basically to put the old gateway in the stereo and use it quite literally as a boom box, except I'm going to have it networked to the computer in my room which has all my music on it, that way I can listen to tunes in the living room or while I'm modding and such.

This is a pic of the inside with the motherboard just sitting in there so I can get a good idea of what I'm working with.

The back

The actual stereo still works, just the cd drive portion of it is all messed up so it just collected dust until I got the bright idea to put a computer inside of it.

This is a pic of the first piece of plex to be used

I'm going to use the buttons for the cd drive to open to...guess what, open the cd drive, hehe, and the button beside it used to control which cd was being played, it will be converted to the power button for the cpu. I'm thinking of putting the 3 leds to use as well, hdd activity, power for the cpu, and not sure about the other one just yet.

Power button board and LED's

This is where ther power button panel was removed from