Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Blown PSU?

  1. #1
    Fresh Paint
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default Blown PSU?

    Hi guys,

    I've been fiddling around with wiring LEDs inside my case today. I managed to get one working perfectly, plugging it into the red 5v+ pin of a molex connector and then into the GND pin.. like so

    5v pin ----resistor--- LED -- gnd pin

    (sorry for the awful diagram)

    it was a bit dim however so i tried it with another LED just like this

    5v pin --- led --- gnd pin

    However this time when I switched the PC on,, lit up for a second.. then nothing. I figured OK so the LED blew... so i unplug it (the molex pins i were using were part of an extension type thing, a female socket then two males) , and try the power button again. Nothing. So i figure ah.. must have blown the plug fuse. I replace the 5A fuse found in the mains socket that plugs into my PSU, and try the power button again. quiet "bang" type sound although you could hardly call it that.. and some smoke coming from my PSU. Not good...

    Have I blown my PSU totally? Is there an fuse inside the PSU itself that might have blown?? Could I have damaged my other hardware?? Help!
    I dont see what could have gone wrong after I replaced the 5A mains fuse..

    Thx in advance!

  2. #2
    KinderGarden for OS slytherock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Blown PSU?

    Have I blown my PSU totally?
    It may be possible, a capacitor or something
    Is there an fuse inside the PSU itself that might have blown??
    It's possible but I doubt it, anyway almost all those fuse are glued on the boards, it's more like use and trash stuff. And it may be dangerous to play with it if you dont know what you're doing.
    Could I have damaged my other hardware??
    It can happen, test with another PSU to make sure
    Help!
    Some PSU I've used, have a kind of reset when a part blow like that, try to unpluged and turn off the PSU then put it back on, it could work
    I dont see what could have gone wrong after I replaced the 5A mains fuse..
    It may not be the fuse, but the led without the resistor
    Just by curiosity, can you gave me the spec of that PSU. A generic one have more possibilities to be totally dead...

    Anyone who think a computer is sexy need to #$? and fast

  3. #3
    Yuk it up Monkey Boy! Airbozo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    In the Redwoods
    Posts
    5,270

    Default Re: Blown PSU?

    I have found in several mediocre power supplies that there is a resistor that protects the fuse. ;-) I know it was not designed that way! If you unplug everything (and let the PS sit for a little bit, but still be VERY careful), then open up the PS you will probably find the bad resistor just by smell and sight. Not sure why PS's have this feature, but it is very common even with some of the higher end PS's found in SUN workstations (similar to atx power supplies). The problem of course is that once the resistor is burnt, it is hard to determine the resistance value.

  4. #4
    KinderGarden for OS slytherock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Blown PSU?

    and let the PS sit for a little bit, but still be VERY careful
    I agree with the fact that you have to be very carefull, but letting sit the PSU wont change a thing. Capacitor keep a certain amount of charge even with no power on, and time dont change anything to it...

    Anyone who think a computer is sexy need to #$? and fast

  5. #5
    Yuk it up Monkey Boy! Airbozo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    In the Redwoods
    Posts
    5,270

    Default Re: Blown PSU?

    Quote Originally Posted by slytherock View Post
    I agree with the fact that you have to be very carefull, but letting sit the PSU wont change a thing. Capacitor keep a certain amount of charge even with no power on, and time dont change anything to it...
    Well the charge in a capacitor _will_ deteriorate after time, but in reality it may take a very long time, depending on the quality of the parts it could take months. Just be VERY careful! Better yet, don't open it up, just replace it.

    Here is a good link to capacitor charge and discharge info;
    http://www.oz.net/~coilgun/theory/capacitorcharging.htm

  6. #6
    KinderGarden for OS slytherock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Blown PSU?

    @Airbozo: I think we speak the same language, but with different words

    Anyone who think a computer is sexy need to #$? and fast

  7. #7
    Yuk it up Monkey Boy! Airbozo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    In the Redwoods
    Posts
    5,270

    Default Re: Blown PSU?

    Quote Originally Posted by slytherock View Post
    @Airbozo: I think we speak the same language, but with different words
    Hehe too true, time is relative to your thinking...

  8. #8
    Fear
    Guest

    Default Re: Blown PSU?

    I accually blew my powersupply 4 days ago. I was playing NFS Carbon, sudenley it restarted, and eventully pc stopped working. Bought a new PSU, worked great. If you blow ur psu, don't both changing Capicatators or w/e. Just go out uby a new one. Decent ones are low as $30.

  9. #9
    Fresh Paint
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Blown PSU?

    heh,, ive replaced it now and all is working fine.
    However what confirmed that it was totally dead for me was when i changed the 5amp fuse in the mains plug that i thought must have been blown to a new, 13amp fuse, the whole thing went BANG ...BANG BANG BANG (four bangs) VERY loudly, with alot of sparks, and ALOT of smoke, and ALOT of screaming from me ^^

    so i figured it was RIP and went and bought a new 500W Jeantech for £40.. havent heard much about them before and it looks quite generic compared to my old antec :< however it seems to do the job. Nice voltages

    peace x

Similar Threads

  1. Dual PSU case
    By 3xtreme in forum Works in progress
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-07-2006, 01:48 AM
  2. SLI PSU w/o SLI?
    By Aero in forum Motherboards, Processors, & Power Supplies
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-26-2006, 10:33 PM
  3. [Guide] How to make a test psu
    By DannyGlass in forum Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-10-2005, 03:28 PM
  4. How can I make a PSU smaller?
    By DRece in forum Modding Q&A
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 06-22-2005, 03:28 AM
  5. PSU shopping question
    By snake_0iler in forum Motherboards, Processors, & Power Supplies
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-13-2005, 10:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •