Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Project: Bruised

Austral Alien

Default Project: Bruised

G'day all!

I'm new to the computer modding scene, but I feel I should be able to go alright.
    I have been modding my motorcycles for a while, playing with cars, build my own computers and I own a dremel!

I have a few ideas, which while they may seem original and unique when I thought of them, surfing around a few forums and websites means you'll soon see it done already...

One of the ideas I am toying with is building a PC into a Pocket Bike I recently bought. The Internet soon yeilded a project like that which had already been done...
    Nevermind, I might still do it, but I wanted something a little easier for making up my first custom case.

So I thought getting an old stereo amplifier and building it into that.
    But then, I see it's been there and done before.
    It's probably the way I'll go though to begin with.

Other ideas I've had is getting a dashboard from a car and building it into that. Or more specifically, the centre console/fascia where the stereo would normally go. It would look good on the desk and the right one would lend itself well to having ROM drives mounted, as well as intergrating the cars A/C controls.

My current case is an Atrix with no mods, other than a cupholder/ciggie lighter mounted in a 5.25" bay, which the cup holder pops open as soon as you open the front cover door.
    It's a little old and slow as far as the internals go. A AMD Athlon XP2000+ and Gigabyte MoBo. 1.25Gb ram and a reasonable video card and sound card.

I recently picked up a 3.0Ghz Intel Celeron D processor, Foxconn MoBo and 1Gb stick of DDR400 ram for a good price.
    I don't tend to play too many games, so outright performance isn't the main goal, just a quickish and reliable PC for surfing the net and looking after a Motorbike Forum, listening to music while I do it and maybe watch the occasional movie on it.