Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Project PCG3

Default Project PCG3

Hello,
    I am new to these fancy forums and am in the midst of building my second mod.
    My first was the standard new paint job, but this time I feel like stepping it up a notch.

I just purchased a used (Mac)G3 case and I plan on getting my (full)ATX board in there, along with 2 HDDs and at least one Disc drive.
    I am in the middle of planning out where I need to cut and will need help with some situations.

My first question is that; the board I am working with, is SLI compatible. I've always had my video card in the first slot (which is orange). Would I be able to move it to the other (blue) slot? It would help quite a bit with positioning of the board if I could.

My second is; What is the best tool to cut through aluminum and plastic?

Thirdly, Has anyone ever done this before?

Thanks for your help.

Practice random acts of generosity Omega's Avatar

Default Re: Project PCG3

First: I don't know. All I can say is RTFM. Most of the time that kind of stuff is in there.

Secondly: Jigsaw and a file set. Jigsaws can go through aluminum and polycarbonate with ease, then you file it until it's nice.

Thirdly: Probably, but not that I've seen.

i5-3570k @ 4.40GHz // R9 380X @ 1020MHz // 2x Samsung 850 EVO SSDs // 2x 2TB HDDs
    Fractal Design Define R2 XL "Monolith"

Watching this thread, 'cos sticking a PC in a G3 is a cool idea.

Welcome to the mad house dude ^.^

I know him in RL. Hes a good friend of mine. Treat him nicely!

Quote Originally Posted by Ichbin View Post
    I know him in RL. Hes a good friend of mine. Treat him nicely!
    We usually do.

Welcome aboard squilliam. Best of luck with the mod.

Quote Originally Posted by squilliam View Post
    Hello,
    I am new to these fancy forums and am in the midst of building my second mod.
    My first was the standard new paint job, but this time I feel like stepping it up a notch.