Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Rocks Cluster Tutorial Part 1 The Install

Default Rocks Cluster Tutorial Part 1 The Install

==NOTE== Please keep in mind that this is a work in progress, so if you see something that does not make sense, ASK QUESTIONS! Also if you see anything that is confusing and could be better written, please let me know. And if I have made some mistakes also let me know. I am still learning this stuff too. ==NOTE==

This is the start of the Cluster Tutorial using Rocks Clusters Software;
    http://www.rocksclusters.org/

This tutorial is based on the software from Rocksclusters.org. I will be refering to some of the documents on their site, so if you want to follow along, please point your browser to; http://www.rocksclusters.org/rocks-d...2.1/index.html. You can also download a pdf version of this document to view off line.

Getting started.
    The basic items needed for a simple cluster are a frontend node (the system that the rest of the world will see), a compute node (1 or more), a private network interconnect, and an external network interconnect, Software.

HARDWARE;

Frontend (1);
    motherboard
    processor (386 minimum)
    memory (minimum 512mb)
    Hard drive (20gb min)
    CD drive (dvd for the larger disks)
    2 network interfaces (one for the outside world and one for the cluster network)
    Power supply (to power all those jiggly bits)
    Video card (not really necessary since _most_ systems can use the serial port for a console)

Compute Node (at least 1);
    motherboard
    processor (386 minimum)
    memory (minimum 512mb)
    Hard drive (20gb min)
    CD drive (dvd for the larger disks)
    1 network interface
    Power supply (to power all those jiggly bits)
    Video card (not really necessary since _most_ systems can use the serial port for a console)

Network;
    Switch for connecting cluster together. Can be eliminated for a dual node cluster and a crossover cable.
    Cables to connect all systems.