Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: autoruns help

  1. #1
    . Spawn-Inc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,145

    Default autoruns help

    i have a program called autoruns and it lets you edit what runs on startup of your computer. does anyone know anyother programs like this but let you edit each profile/user. autoruns looks like you can but when i edit one profile, it changes it for everyone even though it lists different users. the reason i want to changed start up programs is so i can have 1 account set for gaming (i will change it so only the essitanal programs run so it frees up ram) and then have my regular account work normal.
    CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
    GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
    Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
    Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
    PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
    HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
    LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
    Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
    CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v

  2. #2
    Paradox Sausage DaveW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scotland, UK (NOT England)
    Posts
    5,550

    Default Re: autoruns help

    Hmm...

    Start, Run, mscongfig is what I do. Don't know how it works for multiple accounts.

    -Dave
    Quote Originally Posted by jdbnsn
    Ideas are just knowledge soaked in alcohol.
    Quote Originally Posted by jdbnsn
    Did I just get in a Volvo? Volvo's don't have guns!

  3. #3
    Blunt Master 5000 CanaBalistic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    1,073

    Default Re: autoruns help

    Use daves method. Thats how i go about it.
    You Dont Spread Democracy Through The Barrel Of A Gun.

  4. #4
    . Spawn-Inc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,145

    Default Re: autoruns help

    i messed around with it and it does the same as autoruns. well autoruns does more and can controler more things but they both effect every account. so i will just login, change everything then log back into the account. then when i build/buy a new computer i hopefully won't have this problem.
    CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
    GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
    Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
    Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
    PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
    HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
    LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
    Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
    CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v

  5. #5
    Yuk it up Monkey Boy! Airbozo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    In the Redwoods
    Posts
    5,272

    Default Re: autoruns help

    It has been several years since I used the hardware manager in windows for creating profiles, but I thought there was a way to create different hardware profiles and when the system boots you pick the profile you want.
    "...Dumb all over, A little ugly on the side... "...Frank Zappa...

  6. #6
    Talk nerdy to me nil8's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    1,582

    Default Re: autoruns help

    He's not asking for hardware profiles. He's asking for different programs to startup under different user accounts. At least that's how it sounds to me.

    The way these programs work is doing a basic reghack to the local machine hive instead of the current user hive, so it is a global modification, not one localized to your profile.

    If I'm correct, you're needing for a list of programs on your machine to not run under your gaming account, but run under your normal one. Is that correct?

  7. #7
    Custom User Title Ironcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    sunny south florida
    Posts
    517

    Default Re: autoruns help

    I'm not sure cuz I ain't no windows XPert but I THINK it's...

    C
    Documents and Settings (for each user or profile)
    Start Menu (for each user or profile)

    If you want it to run under everyone put it in shared, if you don't want it to run, take it out of your start menu
    "A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, con a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyse a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects"

    Robert A. Heinlein

  8. #8
    Ceann na Drochaide Bige! XcOM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sheffield (UK)
    Posts
    2,990

    Default Re: autoruns help

    the easist way, it write a batch file:

    Code:
    @echo off
    cls
    echo Killing all not essencial processes
    echo 
    taskkill program.exe
    exit
    Replace program.exe with the process you wish to kill, just add another TASKKILL for more processes. Run CMD< and type
    Code:
    taskkill /?
    for all the switches you can use. i have a batch file like this, i even have a VB program to do it for me if i want to end speffic programs,

    I will send a copy if you like?


    Mary had a little lamb. It bumped into a pylon. Ten thousand volts went up its arse and turned its wool to nylon!

  9. #9
    . Spawn-Inc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,145

    Default Re: autoruns help

    Quote Originally Posted by nil8 View Post
    He's not asking for hardware profiles. He's asking for different programs to startup under different user accounts. At least that's how it sounds to me.

    The way these programs work is doing a basic reghack to the local machine hive instead of the current user hive, so it is a global modification, not one localized to your profile.

    If I'm correct, you're needing for a list of programs on your machine to not run under your gaming account, but run under your normal one. Is that correct?
    ya thats what i want.

    Quote Originally Posted by XcOM View Post
    the easist way, it write a batch file:

    Code:
    @echo off
    cls
    echo Killing all not essencial processes
    echo 
    taskkill program.exe
    exit
    Replace program.exe with the process you wish to kill, just add another TASKKILL for more processes. Run CMD< and type
    Code:
    taskkill /?
    for all the switches you can use. i have a batch file like this, i even have a VB program to do it for me if i want to end speffic programs,

    I will send a copy if you like?
    i'm not sure i want to get into it that much i will just change it with autoruns as i need to.
    CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
    GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
    Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
    Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
    PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
    HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
    LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
    Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
    CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •