Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Dremel isn't working!!!

  1. #1
    Go ahead, impress me Spacehonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    453

    Default Dremel isn't working!!!

    I just got back from my vacation and I wanted to do some more work on my skeleton hands for Monitor Mod but when I went to turn on my Dremel it didn't work at all. I figured OK just needs a charge, even though it's suppose to hold a charge for 2 years. Then I noticed the base station green light won't come on when I plug the Dremel Stylus in. I'm guessing it got fired somehow but I've got it pluged into a surge protector so I'm not sure what the hell happened to it. It worked just fine before I left a week ago.
    *****COMMON SENSE AIN'T COMMON*****
    *********************************************

  2. #2
    Banned Eclecticos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3,137

    Default Re: Dremel isn't working!!!

    You may have overcharged the battery. . I had a Cordless Phone and a Drill go out like that. Was it real hot?
    Have you tried a different outlet?

  3. #3
    . Spawn-Inc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,145

    Default Re: Dremel isn't working!!!

    blown fuse inside?
    CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
    GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
    Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
    Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
    PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
    HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
    LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
    Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
    CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v

  4. #4
    Administrator OvRiDe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    4,584

    Default Re: Dremel isn't working!!!

    Wow its been a BAD week for rotary tools.. heh

    I don't know about the stylus, but some of the dremels have replaceable brushes. Since they are removable, maybe one slipped out of place. I suggest checking the troubleshooting section of the manual, maybe there is something in there.

    Good luck.

  5. #5
    Go ahead, impress me Spacehonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    453

    Default Re: Dremel isn't working!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Eclecticos View Post
    You may have overcharged the battery. . I had a Cordless Phone and a Drill go out like that. Was it real hot?
    Have you tried a different outlet?
    I tried a couple different outlets with no luck.

    Quote Originally Posted by Spawn-Inc View Post
    blown fuse inside?
    I thought about that. I saw that I might be able to unscrew the bottom plate on the charging station but I haven't opened it up yet. Before I went and did that I thought I would get a few suggestions from you guys.

    Quote Originally Posted by OvRiDe View Post
    I don't know about the stylus, but some of the dremels have replaceable brushes.
    Replaceable Brushes?
    *****COMMON SENSE AIN'T COMMON*****
    *********************************************

  6. #6
    Like a Lightning Bolt in Your Cheerios! Drum Thumper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    4,522

    Default Re: Dremel isn't working!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Spacehonkey View Post

    Replaceable Brushes?
    On the motor. At least I think that's what the OP is getting at.
    Quote Originally Posted by artoodeeto View Post
    aw heck guys. We're modders. Let's just build our own, shall we?

    DrumThumper.net || The Brewing Art ||
    My Flickr Stream

  7. #7
    Go ahead, impress me Spacehonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    453

    Default Re: Dremel isn't working!!!

    I had another look at the charging base and they used some special screws to put it together. I need a triangle tip screwdriver to get them off.
    *****COMMON SENSE AIN'T COMMON*****
    *********************************************

  8. #8
    Administrator OvRiDe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    4,584

    Default Re: Dremel isn't working!!!

    I was indeed talking about the brushes in the motor. I am not sure how the Stylus is constructed compared to some of the others, but if it is the brushes, its like a 3 dollar fix. Which would be nice!

    HERE is an example of what I was talking about..

    It may be a long shot but I figured it was worth mentioning.

  9. #9
    . Spawn-Inc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,145

    Default Re: Dremel isn't working!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by OvRiDe View Post
    I was indeed talking about the brushes in the motor. I am not sure how the Stylus is constructed compared to some of the others, but if it is the brushes, its like a 3 dollar fix. Which would be nice!

    HERE is an example of what I was talking about..

    It may be a long shot but I figured it was worth mentioning.
    in case you still don't understnad/know what hes talking about look for caps like these
    (green hand pointing to them)


    i looked at the stylus from pictures and couldn't see any so i don't think they can be replaced (easily anyway)
    but like i said before if the base isn't working (no green light) then its probably a fuse or something inside the base.
    CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
    GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
    Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
    Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
    PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
    HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
    LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
    Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
    CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v

  10. #10
    Administrator OvRiDe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    4,584

    Default Re: Dremel isn't working!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Spawn-Inc View Post
    like i said before if the base isn't working (no green light) then its probably a fuse or something inside the base.
    Yep.. I totally overlooked the part about no green light... If you have a VOM (Volt Ohm Meter) you could try checking if there is any voltage on the base charging contacts. I would have to agree with Spawn here.. it sounds like the the charging station is dead. Those are pretty new for the market, still under warranty?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •