Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: XP 64-Bit Upgrade

  1. #1
    50 Custom PC's in 10 Years! TheGreatSatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    6,629

    Default XP 64-Bit Upgrade

    I know you can drop in a XP Pro to upgrade XP Home without wiping the files, but can you drop in XP 64-Bit to upgrade XP 32-Bit without wiping the files too?
    ----------------------------------------
    ----------------------------------------
    NEW GENESIS
    *******************************
    Modified Azza Genesis with an Intel i7 2600K, Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H, 32GB (8GB x 4) Corsair XMS3, 960GB Crucial M500, 240GB Sandisk Extreme, 1275 Watt Thermaltake 80 Platinum Modular PSU, Gigabyte GTX 780 OC 3GB, and a Corsair H60

  2. #2
    Measure once, curse twice nevermind1534's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    3,244

    Default Re: XP 64-Bit Upgrade

    You don't have to wipe the files, although you can't do an upgrade from 32 bit, or to any vista. You have to do a clean install, but if you don't format the drive, you only lose your settings, not your files. You can upgrade to Vista x64 from a 32-bit version, though.
    Help my mini city
    Population Industry Transport Security
    Quote Originally Posted by progbuddy View Post
    It's probably the extreme radiation from the nuclear core in your phone. Push the control rod all the way in.
    Quote Originally Posted by UrbanLegend_NY View Post
    I'm not selling it in hell I'm selling it on eBay.

  3. #3
    Live Long and Modify ContraptionMaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    122

    Default Re: XP 64-Bit Upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by TheGreatSatan View Post
    I know you can drop in a XP Pro to upgrade XP Home without wiping the files, but can you drop in XP 64-Bit to upgrade XP 32-Bit without wiping the files too?
    Don't do an upgrade! Any problems you might have in the original os will still be there after you upgrade. You can't "upgrade" from a 32-Bit system to a 64-Bit system because they are two total different systems.
    From the Microsoft web site:

    Q.Can I upgrade from 32-bit Windows XP Professional to Windows XP Professional x64 Edition?
    A.No, you can't upgrade. You can use the Technology Advancement Program until the end of July, 2005, to exchange your copy of Windows XP Professional for the x64 Edition of Windows XP Professional, but doing so replaces your existing license with the new license. The actual installation of Windows XP Professional x64 Edition is a fresh install, not an upgrade. All your programs will have to be reinstalled, and if you have data on the same drive as your operating system, it will be wiped out. Make a thorough backup of your important files before doing the installation.
    If you don't want to wipe your files out with a format you can always set it up as a dual boot system and have both os's to work with and still see your files in either. Personally I like this way the best because if you have something that only runs on a perticular os you can just reboot and switch back. Just incase you didn't know you can also use and upgrade disk to do a clean install if you have your original windows disk, not a recovery disk.

    Hope this helps.
    I Build, Therefor I Am!
    http://www.thebestcasescenario.com/f...ine=1224642592
    Live today because tomorrow may never come!

  4. #4
    50 Custom PC's in 10 Years! TheGreatSatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    6,629

    Default Re: XP 64-Bit Upgrade

    I guess I'l just leave it alone. If it ain't broke don't fix it.
    ----------------------------------------
    ----------------------------------------
    NEW GENESIS
    *******************************
    Modified Azza Genesis with an Intel i7 2600K, Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H, 32GB (8GB x 4) Corsair XMS3, 960GB Crucial M500, 240GB Sandisk Extreme, 1275 Watt Thermaltake 80 Platinum Modular PSU, Gigabyte GTX 780 OC 3GB, and a Corsair H60

  5. #5
    Measure once, curse twice nevermind1534's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    3,244

    Default Re: XP 64-Bit Upgrade

    I don't think I did a formated the drive when I installed it... I think I read on Microsoft's website that you can upgrade from vista 32 to vista 64 for free.
    Help my mini city
    Population Industry Transport Security
    Quote Originally Posted by progbuddy View Post
    It's probably the extreme radiation from the nuclear core in your phone. Push the control rod all the way in.
    Quote Originally Posted by UrbanLegend_NY View Post
    I'm not selling it in hell I'm selling it on eBay.

  6. #6
    Windows 7 Fanboy Datech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    860

    Default Re: XP 64-Bit Upgrade

    TheGreatSatan: In my opinion, XP 64-bit was more of an afterthought than a useful operating system. Server 2003 64 and now Vista 64 outshine XP 64 in many areas, so if you really want to have a 64 bit OS, and Windows, I'd just bite the bullet and get Vista 64. Plus, you get DX10 if its a gaming rig.

    nevermind1534: You can upgrade XP to Vista (both 32-bit), I've done it twice. Again, its not really recommended as ContraptionMaker said due to lingering OS problems, not to mention any rogue device drivers that may choose to rear their heads.

    Just snag a new license and an external hard drive, and copy/blast/copy away.

  7. #7
    Measure once, curse twice nevermind1534's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    3,244

    Default Re: XP 64-Bit Upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by Datech View Post
    nevermind1534: You can upgrade XP to Vista (both 32-bit)
    Yes, but you can't upgrade the 64-bit version of xp to vista. If that were possible, I would have done it instead of doing a clean install over xp 64 when I installed vista ultimate x64 two days ago.
    Help my mini city
    Population Industry Transport Security
    Quote Originally Posted by progbuddy View Post
    It's probably the extreme radiation from the nuclear core in your phone. Push the control rod all the way in.
    Quote Originally Posted by UrbanLegend_NY View Post
    I'm not selling it in hell I'm selling it on eBay.

  8. #8
    50 Custom PC's in 10 Years! TheGreatSatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    6,629

    Default Re: XP 64-Bit Upgrade

    I will wait till Windows 7 comes out for that system. My new system (My Sig) will be getting Vista Home Premium 64-bit
    ----------------------------------------
    ----------------------------------------
    NEW GENESIS
    *******************************
    Modified Azza Genesis with an Intel i7 2600K, Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H, 32GB (8GB x 4) Corsair XMS3, 960GB Crucial M500, 240GB Sandisk Extreme, 1275 Watt Thermaltake 80 Platinum Modular PSU, Gigabyte GTX 780 OC 3GB, and a Corsair H60

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •