Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: New Upgrade for BF3

  1. #1
    Overclocked B1Gtime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    247

    Default New Upgrade for BF3

    Current PC does not run BF3, XPS 630i= Core 2 Duo 2.83 GHz,8800GT,8GB ram,500GB HDD..

    Wanna upgrade with:
    AMD Bulldozer FX-8150 3.6GHz(4.2 w/ turbo)
    XFX 6950
    G.Skill Gaming Sniper 12GB ram
    GIGABYTE 990FXA AM3+ Mobo

    any suggestions or comments? Good or bad?

  2. #2
    rawrnomnom diluzio91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,471

    Default Re: New Upgrade for BF3

    It looks good to me, If it was me I would swap that 560 out for a TI, or for a 6950, BF3 would really benefit from the quicker card.
    Not dead yet

  3. #3
    Overclocked B1Gtime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    247

    Default Re: New Upgrade for BF3

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...scrollFullInfo

    alright ill get this XFX 6950.. it says PCI Express 2.1 x16..that will work in a 2.0 x16?

  4. #4
    rawrnomnom diluzio91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,471

    Default Re: New Upgrade for BF3

    Yeah, no problems. When are you planning on building this rig to get bulldozer?
    Not dead yet

  5. #5
    Overclocked B1Gtime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    247

    Default Re: New Upgrade for BF3

    Plan on buying the bulldozer when ever it hits Store OCt 12 hopefully.. have it built b4 bf3

  6. #6
    Administrator OvRiDe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    4,584

    Default Re: New Upgrade for BF3

    Well you have till the 25th to complete it. I have been playing the beta some, and so far so good. It's open now if you just want to try it out.

    http://www.battlefield.com/battlefield3/1/beta

    But hurry if you want to try it because the date says the beta closes on the 10th.

  7. #7
    Overclocked B1Gtime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    247

    Default Re: New Upgrade for BF3

    I been playing beta but the game crashs randomly saying an error saying Driver Display Driver stop responding and has been recovered..Nvidia 8800GT....

    games sick

  8. #8
    Overclocked B1Gtime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    247

    Default Re: New Upgrade for BF3

    i ended up buying ordering today:

    i5 2500k Sandy Bridge
    8Gb ram(1600)
    ASrock P67 Extreme 4 Gen 3

    and have to order: HIS 6950 2-gb 256-bit


    Bulldozer looked like disappointment, i5>1100T when it comes to gaming.

  9. #9
    100% Recycled Pixels. Twigsoffury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma city
    Posts
    2,017

    Default Re: New Upgrade for BF3

    So uhh.... what sort of power supply do you plan on using with these behemoth parts you've ordered?


    Bulldozer looked like disappointment, i5>1100T when it comes to gaming
    Thats before free radical overclocking, My 955 is supposed to be slower then the majority of i7's and i5's because its stock freqency is 3.2Ghz

    Well a 3.881Ghz sets it above what a intel i7 920 does at stock frequencies, plus i look more at the smoothness of the gameplay over what fraps says in the top right corner on a system. I mean when your already getting 90+fps whats the difference between 91 and 98 fps.


    But anyways my buddy has the 2500k, and that's a sweet sweet processor. (especially when overclocked..hint hint)

  10. #10

    Default Re: New Upgrade for BF3

    Mentioning the 6950 here... Why do they even sell 6970 anymore? Just asking out of curiosity

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •