Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: A Step too far maybe???

  1. #1
    If it isn't stock, it's modded! slaveofconvention's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear, UK
    Posts
    2,816

    Default A Step too far maybe???

    Ok so I have a pretty big trip planned for the new year, one which will involve, I imagine, taking a lot of photographs. Getting ready for this, I decided to get some additional SD memory for my digital camera, and after shopping around a bit, I ordered a pair of 32GB Class 6 SDHC cards.

    I just popped one into my camera, a Casio Exilim EX-FH20 with a 9.1mp sensor, and with all of the settings set on high, everything except RAW enabled, it came up with space for 5786 photographs.

    I think, no, I'm pretty sure I went a little bit too far lol, expecially as I already have 2 8GB cards and a 2GB one. Assuming the estimate is correct, that means I'm now in a position to take just under 15,000 photographs without a download..... lol



    Oh yeah, my "spare" camera, a Fuji S5600 has a 4GB Card and it runs at 5.1mp, so that's good for another 900 or so lol

    Breaking that down, I'm on this trip for 6 days, so a little over 2500 pics per day, assuming I sleep 8 hours, thats over 150 per hour, or a photograph roughly every 25 seconds I'm awake.... lol

    Current Projects: Lobo | Unimatrix | High Voltage | Antec 900 Revamp (Phase 2)
    Completed Projects: General Lee | Synergy Green | Liquid Yellow
    Planned Projects: K-9-PC | Limey

  2. #2
    Yuk it up Monkey Boy! Airbozo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    In the Redwoods
    Posts
    5,270

    Default Re: A Step too far maybe???

    Quote Originally Posted by slaveofconvention View Post
    Ok so I have a pretty big trip planned for the new year, one which will involve, I imagine, taking a lot of photographs. Getting ready for this, I decided to get some additional SD memory for my digital camera, and after shopping around a bit, I ordered a pair of 32GB Class 6 SDHC cards.

    I just popped one into my camera, a Casio Exilim EX-FH20 with a 9.1mp sensor, and with all of the settings set on high, everything except RAW enabled, it came up with space for 5786 photographs.

    I think, no, I'm pretty sure I went a little bit too far lol, expecially as I already have 2 8GB cards and a 2GB one. Assuming the estimate is correct, that means I'm now in a position to take just under 15,000 photographs without a download..... lol



    Oh yeah, my "spare" camera, a Fuji S5600 has a 4GB Card and it runs at 5.1mp, so that's good for another 900 or so lol

    Breaking that down, I'm on this trip for 6 days, so a little over 2500 pics per day, assuming I sleep 8 hours, thats over 150 per hour, or a photograph roughly every 25 seconds I'm awake.... lol
    So get on it. Your camera may have a time lapse setting, so use that and keep up!


    LOL!
    "...Dumb all over, A little ugly on the side... "...Frank Zappa...

  3. #3
    Anodized
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    56

    Default Re: A Step too far maybe???

    Hehe seems like you have your work cut out for you

  4. #4
    If it isn't stock, it's modded! slaveofconvention's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear, UK
    Posts
    2,816

    Default Re: A Step too far maybe???

    Well lol, it doesn't have time lapse... But it does have a 40 frames per second mode heh (at 7mp)

    Current Projects: Lobo | Unimatrix | High Voltage | Antec 900 Revamp (Phase 2)
    Completed Projects: General Lee | Synergy Green | Liquid Yellow
    Planned Projects: K-9-PC | Limey

  5. #5
    A.B. normal msmrx57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,601

    Default Re: A Step too far maybe???

    I'm with bozo, set it on time lapse and strap it to you head.
    Quote Originally Posted by SXRguyinMA View Post
    Now, off to the basement to do some fiddling with the rods and such.
    so far left of center i'm in right field

  6. #6
    If it isn't stock, it's modded! slaveofconvention's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear, UK
    Posts
    2,816

    Default Re: A Step too far maybe???

    Quote Originally Posted by msmrx57 View Post
    I'm with bozo, set it on time lapse and strap it to you head.
    Quote Originally Posted by slaveofconvention View Post
    Well lol, it doesn't have time lapse...
    Erm... lol

    Current Projects: Lobo | Unimatrix | High Voltage | Antec 900 Revamp (Phase 2)
    Completed Projects: General Lee | Synergy Green | Liquid Yellow
    Planned Projects: K-9-PC | Limey

  7. #7
    A.B. normal msmrx57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,601

    Default Re: A Step too far maybe???

    Ooops, that's what I get for starting stuff and walking away in the middle then not refreshing before spouting off.
    Quote Originally Posted by SXRguyinMA View Post
    Now, off to the basement to do some fiddling with the rods and such.
    so far left of center i'm in right field

  8. #8
    Custom Title Honors BuzzKillington's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,492

    Default Re: A Step too far maybe???

    Probably should have invested in a couple spare batteries.
    PS3: CaptBuzzCooler

  9. #9
    Will YOU be ready when the zombies rise? x88x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    6,334

    Default Re: A Step too far maybe???

    Actually, that gives me an idea...get a cheap little camera with time lapse, shove a huge card and battery into it, and just walk around all day with it running.
    That we enjoy great advantages from the inventions of others, we should be glad of an opportunity to serve others by any invention of ours, and this we should do freely and generously.
    --Benjamin Franklin
    TBCS 5TB Club :: coilgun :: bench PSU :: mightyMite :: Zeus :: E15 Magna EV

  10. #10
    Custom Title Honors chaksq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,277

    Default Re: A Step too far maybe???

    Quote Originally Posted by x88x View Post
    Actually, that gives me an idea...get a cheap little camera with time lapse, shove a huge card and battery into it, and just walk around all day with it running.
    I was thinking the same thing.
    In Progress An Updated (Mac) Classic
    Completed Performa, BOX
    Hiatus Highrise
    Upcoming NightShift
    Cancelled Dell XPS, Framed, Busy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •